My Greatest Teacher

I’ve lost my best teacher and a really good friend.

Eda Mae Sagar

Eda Mae Sagar, my grandma, passed away on Nov. 8 at the age of 94.

She looked out for me a lot when I was a kid, and made an extra effort to expose me to the wider world — both through travel and an open-minded world view.

She was a great cheerleader, and was thrilled to hear the latest news about her great grandchildren, A. and C. She loved to talk to A. on the phone, or learn the latest words that little C. is saying.

She was very happy that I’m now teaching journalism at City College. Education was always a big deal for her, and that made me take it seriously from a young age.

She was curious about life, which made me the same way. Her thirst for information, love of reading and appreciation of everyday things made a huge impact on me, and played a big role in my pursuit of journalism.

She got a kick out of hearing about my job at KCRA, and I still remember how much fun she had sitting on the anchor set in the studio when I gave her a tour of the station.

She would often clearly declare how proud she was of me. She said it again and again. It was just nice to hear. Everyone needs someone like that.

This morning for a split second I thought about calling her, as I sometimes did on Saturdays. But I quickly realized I couldn’t.

To say I’m going to miss her is the biggest understatement I could make.

I’ll always be grateful for all that she gave.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

