I Crabby

The day begins very early at our house.

At about 5:30 a.m. today, little C. was up and ready to go.

After rousting her parents, she sat on the couch and proclaimed just what was on her mind: “I crabby!”

Yes, little one, I hear you.

Mommy and Daddy clutched first cups of coffee, the magic juice essential to good parenting.

C., who is closing in on 2 1/2 years old, knows just what she wants and says it clearly and often. L. and I chuckle at her directness, and of course we jump to meet her needs to fend off any round of toddler crying. She has us trained very well, for sure.

When L.’s mom visited last weekend, C. got to the point about what she wanted: “I need Grandma!”

Of course, Grandma loved it.

When I was having a bowl of cereal this morning, C. wandered into the kitchen and spotted what I had.

“I need cereal!” she proclaimed.

Her use of “need” instead of “want” is both cute and to-the-point. It’s refreshing how honest kids can be.

At other times, she cracks us up with her sly wit.

The other day, I said, “You’re such a good girl!”

She looked at me out of ther corner of her eye and responded in a kooky sing-song: “No, I noooooot!”

The “not” was drawn out, with two syllables. She had a look on her face as if she was about to draw on the walls with crayons. Or grab the keys to my car.

I couldn’t help but laugh, and wonder if this is just a sign of things to come as she marches on toward 3 years old.

I enjoy her little declarations, and brace for what little sayings she comes up with next.

I’m just hoping I can keep up. With a good dose of caffeine, I’ll be fine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

