Chipmunks Stink It Up In A Good Way

If kids ran the Academy Awards, I think the latest Chipmunks flick would be up for something important.

I love movies of all kinds, but when (and if) I go to the theater these days, it’s usually for kids’ fare.

“Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel” was a big hit in the Natomas multiplex where A. and I took it in recently.

Children (and some adults) in the audience were laughing a lot, especially during one particularly thunderous fart joke. In kidland, the Oscar for flatulence would go to this film. It really wasn’t half bad, in that it gave me a good excuse to relax for a long time and munch on a ton of candy.

As for the real Oscars, I’m lagging more than usual in seeing the nominated movies. It’s just part of being a parent of young kids, I guess. I’ve only watched two of the films up for best picture: “Inglourious Basterds” (a guilty pleasure) and “Up” (a beautiful story that won’t win for best movie, but I’m hoping it will get the Oscar for animated feature). And “Avatar”? I know I should see it, but I’m just not too excited yet about the whole blue alien thing. Maybe if the aliens were zombies I might be more motivated.

Judging from the previews we saw before watching the Chipmunks, it looks like there are some pretty decent movies for kids coming our way.

Sneak peeks of “Cats & Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore” (can’t miss with a 007 reference) and “The Karate Kid” (this time with Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith) both got thumbs up from the 7-year-old movie critic sitting next to me. We’ll also come back to check out the 3-D “How to Train Your Dragon.”

And, of course, we have to see the next Chipmunks installment, when and if it happens.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

