Bribe ‘Em With Thin Mints

Thin Mints may be the next breakthrough in effective parenting.

One of my orders of Girl Scout cookies arrived last weekend, and they’re helping in ways I never expected.

Getting A. to pick up his room is an exercise in patience, and our ongoing battle has given me more than one gray hair.

But the power of these chocolate marvels has made things run much more smoothly.

I offered him three cookies to get the place spic-and-span, and that piqued his interest.

Four Thin Mints and we’ve got a deal, he responded. (He’s an expert negotiator.)

I agreed, and within about five minutes, the room was spotless.

It’s got me thinking that maybe I should have ordered a couple cases to have throughout the year.

The delicious little gems could mark an end to arguments over homework and all the other little chores I need him to do.

Shoot, the lure of cookies may even work to get little C. to pick up the books and toys she scatters all around the house.

I’m down to one last box. It’s hidden in the freezer. (Keeping them cold makes them twice as tasty.)

The kids don’t know they’re there. The green box is wedged in between the Eggos and the ice trays, hidden from sight and ready for action at some future time when I’ve used up all my tricks.

I’ve got to fight the urge to chow them myself. They’re my my secret weapons, and I know I’ll need them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

